My Bow Journey

I’m always trying to find a hobby or two, something to pass the day or something that makes me feel proud again. A couple of years ago I was looking into different things such as a bow. Everyone was always saying get a cross bow you’ll be able to do that easier. Since day 1 I’ve always had the mindset that I want to be able to do as much as I can on my own given what I can actually physically do. Did I think I’d be able to shoot a bow? Absolutely not. Was I going to try? You better believe it. It took a little awhile to have the strength to pull one back but when I finally did, it was great. It was light and I was able to hold it using my active hands, which if you don’t know what they are, they are just gloves that allow me to velcro my hands to objects allowing me to hold them. I used an adjustable strap to secure my body to my chair to give me the stability needed that I would otherwise not have. I was all ready, for the most part. Next came probably the hardest part to figure out. How was I going to pull the trigger on the release? No hand or figure function so how could I or we get to the point where I could hit the release on my own? After I left Magee, I came home with a bunch of different gadgets and tools that are multipurpose just none of them could be used for this purpose. We became like scientists or engineers. We were measuring string and using what function or the way my body actually did work to our advantage. We figured the whole string thing out but it wasn’t sure fire every time. We would tie the string around my two fingers and then someone would hook it on the release and then the tension on the string from me flicking my wrist would trigger the release. Well the string had to be at the exact right spot on my fingers and on the release. Sometimes I would be ready and would flick my wrist and nothing other times I wouldn’t be ready and it would go off. This all being while I’m drawn back on my bow. Depending on how long I’d be waiting I’d lose my stability and lose my shot. It was a great fix for now but wouldn’t be ideal in the field. We constantly scratched our heads thinking there has to be something out there like a release or a mechanism or just a simpler way. I’ve done research. My cousin had done research and we just couldn’t find anything UNTIL, my cousin reached out to a nonprofit on Instagram called DisabledOutdoorsmenUSA. They do a lot with disabled adults and kids and hunting. They actually featured me on their Instagram. They got my cousin in touch with a para-archer and the solution to our problem had finally been solved. The solution was as simple as turning the release towards my face and smiling. It took a little to get the hang of because I still needed to be able to see through my peep site and to find the exact location on my face that would activate the trigger. It took a few almost lost arrows to find that sweet spot but I’ll be damned we gotter down! The feeling of excitement and pride came over me. It has been years since I felt the way I did with being able to do it myself along with how accurately and consistently I was finally shooting. The guys with me could see the joy on my face. If you would have asked me five years ago while I’m in the hospital bed with tubes and machines hooked up along with the movement and strength I had at that the time that I’d be able to do almost everything I need to do on my own to shoot a bow I would have laughed at you. Here I am five years later, after many attempts and brainstorming numerous Saturdays to find a solution it was always there with nothing extra needed. If there is a will, there is a way. Below is the video of when I finally found that sweet spot.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment