The Effects of COVID-19

Now I know some way or another everyone has been impacted by this virus but this is how it’s impacted my life. When this whole thing started I didn’t think much of it, thought it was just another flu but on steroids. I’m not saying I didn’t take it seriously but I didn’t exact worry about it as I probably should have or how much I am now. Up until last week I was pretty much doing everything the same. For those of you that don’t know, I stay at my dad’s Monday-Thursday and then my mom’s Friday-Sunday. Fridays I usually went out and about with my mom and grandma running errands. For the most part it was one of the constant things in my life seeing my grandma every Friday and now I don’t know when I’ll be able to again, then Saturdays were usually like my days I did things with friends or my girlfriend. Well once all non essential businesses closes both my Friday and Saturday plans changed. I was now staying in. For the most part when I’m at my dad’s I keep to myself and do my own thing so the virus really had no effect on that aspect. In fact I’ve been practicing self isolation and social distancing long before we were told to. My girlfriend and I were still hanging out but we weren’t just going anywhere up until last weekend. As this started to worsen here in Pennsylvania, my stepdad decided it’d be best if the girlfriends stop coming to the house and I couldn’t understand why? My girlfriend wasn’t exposing herself to anyone new that she already hadn’t been around which was her family, all of which were working from home. My stepdad and I talked about the whole situation. His main thought do you really want to sacrifice a whole lifetime with being not reckless but more so not being as cautionary as we should be. Basically eventually this virus will pass and it’ll be just a snippet of an entire life so do you want to affect someone’s entire life by not being smart now. Which it makes sense. Do I want to be the reason someone gets sick from it or even passes away because I was selfish and didn’t social distance? Heck no. There for awhile I was going to the grocery store with my mom in the middle of the day. I might not show symptoms but I could be passing it to others. After the conversation and a night to think about it I decided to stop going back and forth and just stay at my dad’s until this passes over. At my dad’s though three members of the household are still working. My parents are my caregivers so usually when the bugs are going around, if they have it I get it or vice versus just because of the close contact we have with them being my caregivers. Being the level of injury I am, I’m at a very high risk of the virus and suffering from it especially being an upper respiratory virus. I’m taking a lot more precautions now than I even do for the common flu. I was my hands after everything I touch that someone in the household may have touched. I asked my dad who is still working and probably does the most interactions with me when it comes to my caregiving to wear clothes now when it comes to me and he actually took it a step farther and wears a mask also. Now by no means is anything we do a sterile situation because it doesn’t need to be usually because it’s not hospital and it’s family but this time around we are taking extra measures to be sure I don’t get this. Obviously this has impacted everyone’s social life but much like March birthdays, April birthdays are being impacted which happens to be my month. I had things planned such as my first flight since my accident to Florida next week but now they went out the window which is okay. I’m curious as to how long this virus will stick around and have such an impact on society as well as each person’s individual day to day lives.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment